LONELY SORROW

Lonely on the land I walk,
Lonely cross the sea I sail,
Lonely air of beach I stroll:
This lonely life doth take its toll.

Lonely be such dark of night
When sleep is but a yearning wish,
To dream of sweet companions close,
As wine would pair with diner’s dish.

Lonely do these thoughts me make
That draw my blood of precious life:
Replace with stream of flowing pain
To bless my veins with coursing strife.

Lonely years are now my friends,
Lonely cries bereft of sound,
Lonely tears that cool my face:
In lonely life of sullen pace.

Responder

